In Search of Skinny Jeans

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Back To My Blog March 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Lauren Warner @ 4:55 am

I’ve been MIA from this blog for nearly a month. I have no good excuses. Life just got in the way. My mom was in ICU with pneumonia for a week in Florida (not a way I’d suggest spending your vacation, by the way) and the the last two weeks have been spent with at least one person in the house sick. 


So. Now that my excuses have been made, here are my updates.



As soon as I got home from Florida, knowing that my mom would be alright and would be discharged in a few days, I went through every piece of food in our house and tossed anything with high fructose syrup in it. I was amazed and horrified at how much stuff we had with that crap in it. 


I also picked up a new book, Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes a Day and have started making my own bread. I just couldn’t keep it up when I tried the traditional methods and this method gives such great results I can’t find a reason to do it the “old fashioned” way. 


Aaron and I chose to sell our gaming systems in favor of spending more time outside with Samantha and Madison. We’ve started taking walks with the girls in their little red wagon and Samantha is loving it. When the weather is nice we take her to the playground. It’s so much fun to go outside with her and watch her discover stuff. Exercise is just a fringe benefit. 


Starting next week my mom and I will be going to water aerobics 2-3 times a week. She promised Heather, my middle sister who moved to Taiwan, that she’d follow through.


I’ve been pleasantly surprised that by cutting out the crap with HFCS and eating more homemade meals (which equals more fresh fruits and veggies) I’ve managed to drop another 5 lbs. Not a huge amount but I’ve basically done nothing more than start cooking with the stove instead of the microwave. I’ve found some spectacular recipes in the process.


I’ve also found a new blog that I fell in love with. Please check out The Pioneer Woman. She cracks me up on a regular basis and I’m always learning something new from her. Of all the people I’ve “met” through their blogs, I’d love to sit down to dinner with her and her “punks”. They sound like a real down-to-earth family.

 

2 Responses to “Back To My Blog”

  1. Lisa721 Says:

    Love the blog Lauren! I like your comments about HFCS. Have you seen the commercials about how they're "not so bad" for you? Funny! Of course they are terrible for us, but in almost everything that comes packaged. Good for you for taking such steps for a healthier lifestyle. I need the motivation to do same. 🙂

  2. I love, love, love Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day. Have you tried the Challah bread yet? If not, it's a must. We have been using organic, straight from the chicken eggs, and I swear it makes a difference. I followed you over from my blog and will definitely be visiting often :)Katiemoremisadventures.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

